Templemore Athletic Club has been establishing its own piece of history since its foundation on the 31st August 1976.

It is one of a handful of Athletic Association of Ireland Club’s which owns and manages its own facility.

Since its foundation the club has spent €1.6 million on Capital Development, including a Clubhouse; an eight lane floodlight, Synthetic Athletic Track; Equipment Store I.A.A.F Standard Equipment; Maintenance Equipment and Security Fencing.

50% was funded by the Department of Sport/Education over a time period stretching back to 1982. A further 10% was invested in this project by the local authority – North Tipperary C.C and Templemore Town Council. The remaining 40% has been raised from internal sources of Finance. This equates to €640,000 covering the entire project – not bad for a town with a population of 2,500 people. The club is debt free.

The Clubs hinterland covers 650sq miles in area. The club possess twenty Qualified National Coaches (through A.A.I.), ranging from ‘Little Athletics’ to level three Coaches.

International Atheletes

29 Athletes from the club have represented Ireland at International Level. Tomas Coman represented Ireland in the Sydney Olympics, while Margaret Danagher represented Ireland at the World Cross Country in Leopardstown in 2002.


Three Athletes from the Club obtained Athletic Scholarships to the U.S.A.
Margaret Danagher (pictured below) and Monica Reilly obtained Scholarships to the University of Tulsa, Oklahoma Brian Murray achieved a similar reward in the University of Mobile in Southern Alabama.

National Athletes

National Medals continue to be won annually at Juvenile, Junior, Under 23, Senior and Masters Level. In 2016 Simon Archer,was awarded a Sports Scholarship to Letterkenny Institute of Technology, having run 22.32 seconds in the indoors in the 200 metres.

Special Olympics

In Special Olympics in 2015 Irelands Gold Medalist on the ‘Track’ in Los Angeles was won by Club Member Rachel Ryan in the 400 metres.


In Paralympics, Catherine Dunne won National Titles at Wheelchair Shot, Discus and 100 metres. Enjoying all the running around, the children and mentors at this years athletics Summer Camp run by Templemore Athletics Club in Templemore.

Road Relays

2016 will long be remembered as the year struck Templemore Gold in the Tipperary Road Relay Championships on the 31st January, the following four athletes combined to win Division one in a time of 18 minutes 49 seconds: Adrian McGinley, Tony Fogarty, Robbie Kennedy, Jack Corbett
As a double our second team won Division Two – Adrian Young, peter madden, Johnnie Doran and Luke Herke. So ‘Gold’ on the double after waiting nearly forty years.

Men’s Road  & Cross Country

As far back as 1992 the club won its first Novice Road and Novice Cross Country Titles. The team members were: Michael Delahunty (4) Stephen O Toole (6) Johnnie Doran (1) Jeremy Lyons (10) Martin O Meara Mark Jordon (5) Richie Butler James Tierney Tommy Conroy
That was the beginning of a wonderful period in Cross Country for Templemore A.C. In 1993 Johnnie Doran won the County Intermediate 8k, Cross Country in Clonmel Race Course that was followed up by the club winning the Men’s Intermediate Title the following year. The winning team on that November day in 1994 was: Brian Murray (1st) Mick Delahunty (2nd) Donie kennedy (4th) Mark Saunders (10th) John Slattery (13th) The remainder of the team tommy Conroy, James Tierney and Richie Butler.
In 1992, 1993 and 1994, Templemore again with the familiar names of Johnnie Doran, Stephen O Toole, Jeremy Lyons, Martin O Meara, Mick Delahunty, Donie Kennedy, Michael Browne, Con Kennedy and Denis Carroll won a threein-a-row of County Novice Cross Country Titles. Then in 1994 Templemore A.C. won the County Senior (B-Section)
Cross Country with Connie Lynch our first man home.
The same names again feature strongly in the victories achieved in the Novice A & B winning Road Race Teams of the 1990’s, with Michael Delahunty and Mark Jordon being victorious in 1993 and again Tom Ryan (Borrisoleigh) winning the Race in Ballynonty in 1995.
Prior to the nineties, Mick Doyle stamped his claim on the Road Races winning Novice & Masters Titles on the Road and at Cross Country. Mick also holds the club record for the Marathon of 2 hours 43 minutes.

Women’s Cross Country

The only County Senior Women’s Cross Country Title was won in 1995 with the scoring three being, Michelle Howe, Mary Kinane and Dolores Ingram. This was over 4k and was staged in Moyglass.
In 1993 on the same day that Johnnie Doran won the Novice C.C Title, Templemore A.C. had a glorious double when Margaret Danagher won the Novice ladies Title.